Opening up about my mental health journey

Dear readers,

It is wonderful to be on a blogging site such as WordPress for the very first time. It is a joy and privilege to be sharing my thoughts and feelings with you all. I am from Melbourne Australia and I am married to Karthi who is a beautiful, loving and caring. I have a loving family unit and I am so blessed to have supportive parents who have been exceedingly patient with me and shown plenty of love too. I work in the state government department and have done so for 6 and a half years.

At the age of 23 I realised not all was well with me mentally. I was basically a selfish person and I had a lot of anger towards my parents and we fought regularly. These issues contributed to me struggling with my studies at university. I was temperamental and somewhat reckless and lived life the way I wanted but I was on a path to self destruction. My parents, who are both doctors, referred me to a psychiatrist who assessed me in the initial consultation and came to the conclusion that I did not have a significant mental illness but I could keep seeing him and tell him about my problems. This caused me to look inside myself and realise I needed help as my mental health was not perfect like I thought before the first meeting with my psychiatrist.

Over the course of the first year of psychiatric consultations I really had to look deep inside myself and answer his questions to the best of my ability. After seeing him once every two weeks the frequency of the visits decreased to once a month. I was initially diagnosed with generalised anxiety disorder mixed with mild depression. Basically, it was being anxious for no good reason, an irrational fear etc. It was a tough year, it was hard to get out of the house and my default was to sit on the couch and watch television. I felt like I didn’t have anyone to turn to and that no one understood what I was going through. The sense of isolation was crippling and the depression worsened this feeling.

The medication I was taking for my condition helped to an extent but the same issues and problems were still there. I needed ways to cope and I made a few poor choices in that regard so I suppose I was crying out for help and guidance. When this was lacking there was a sense of hopelessness and despair. In my next post I will reveal how I found a light at the end of the tunnel. Stay tuned!

Much love,

Tyronne

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

