Overcoming anxiety and depression

An extremely important decision in my life was accepting Jesus as my saviour and lord. I was invited to church by one of my dad’s patients who is a strong Christian. I had peace in my life knowing my sins were forgiven, however I continued to have struggles as I faced a further road of mental ilness.

The next step in my mental health journey caused me some degree of difficulty. My psychiatrist diagnosed with Generalized Anxiety Disorder (GAD), coupled with relatively mild depression. This caused me to feel anxiety for no good reason and shy away from social contact. It was an irrational fear of perceived danger. Spending little time in the presence of people contributed to my depression as I felt the friends I had in the past had moved on with life and I was stuck in a rut.

I was able to overcome my GAD, however I was in and out of employment and I chose a couple of jobs that weren’t well suited to my abilities, hence I could not hold down a job for a significant period of time. Unemployment caused me to feel down but not seriously depressed. Things started to turn in 2007 when I met a lady who was known to my parents and she felt a connection to me and wanted to help me.  I got to know her and quickly realized how blessed I was to have her in my life.

My family friend aunt put her heart and soul into me finding employment and thus moving forward in life. I was able to find my first corporate job later in that year and feel settled and happy for the first time in quite a while. I felt good knowing I could work effectively and meet new work colleagues despite my mental illness. The work itself was somewhat mundane but I could do it well and that boosted my self-esteem. I had walked through the tunnel and I felt I had stepped into the light and came out of the other side.

 

 

Leave a Reply

